
Machinery once used to grind flour inside the mill will be displayed vertically at the northeast corner of the addition, visible through glass from a plaza below. Also the machinery would be visible from a glass-enclosed elevator, according to the plans, which have been approved by the Tempe Historic Preservation Commission.
The 1918 mill building -- not to be confused with the separate silo structure that was added in 1951 -- will contain a restaurant, retail stores, and offices. Archaeological structures, including an intact stone archway that straddled a canal once providing water power for the mill, will be preserved beneath the glassy addition. [Note: To read the full article, click here.]