Friday, June 09, 2006

Arizona Governor announces 2006 Heritage Preservation Honor Awards

The recipients of the 24th Annual Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Awards have been announced by Arizona Governor Janet Napolitano. The awards recognize individuals, organizations, and projects that represent outstanding achievement in preserving Arizona's prehistoric and historic resources. The Arizona Preservation Foundation and the State Historic Preservation Office, a division of the Arizona State Parks department, commissioned a panel of judges representing the fields of archaeology, history, and historic preservation to select the honorees.

"Preserving Arizona's history and culture is one of the greatest gifts anyone can give to the state," said Governor Napolitano. "These awards honor those who have spent countless hours ensuring that Arizona's past remains an important part of our future."

2006 recipients of the Governor's Awards are:
  • Arizona Public Service for historic preservation efforts related to the retirement of the Childs and Irving hydroelectric power plants (between Strawberry and Camp Verde).
  • Catlin Court Historic District Association for efforts to create and nurture Glendale's first historic district.
  • Victor Linoff (Mesa) for more than three decades of work in preservation.
  • Mandell & Meyer Building rehabilitation/adaptive reuse project team (Casa Grande).
  • Danny Morales for his rehabilitation work on San Xavier del Bac Mission (Tucson).
  • The makers of "Nihizazii K'eeda'didleeh Nt'ee: Our Ancestors Knew How to Farm" documentary (Ganado).
  • U.S. Representative Ed Pastor (Phoenix) for long-standing support of preservation in the halls of Congress.
  • Lyle Stone, Ph.D. (Tubac) for a lifetime of preservation work.
  • Verde Valley Senior Center rehabilitation/adaptive reuse project team (Cottonwood).
  • Yuma Crossing Cultural Alliance for Yuma Crossing Day.
The 24th Annual Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Awards will be presented on June 16 at a special lunch to be held in conjunction with the 4th Annual Arizona Historic Preservation Conference at the Glendale Civic Center in Glendale, AZ. All ten award winners will be honored at the luncheon and the Grand Award will be announced at the luncheon. Lunch attendance and conference registration are open to the public. Tickets to the awards luncheon are $65. Conference registration information is online. Those wishing more information about the awards luncheon and conference can also call 602-789-9132.