Thursday, August 24, 2006

Sedona Main Street Program award winners lauded

[Source:] -- The 2006 Arizona Main Street Awards presentation was held at the NAU DuBois Center in Flagstaff, with nearly 605 attending the Governor's Rural Development Conference on August 18. It was a special day with Governor Janet Napolitano addressing all attendees prior to the Award Presentation during the Governor's Luncheon. The statewide winners were announced by Jim McPherson of the Arizona Preservation Foundation. The awards were presented by Gilbert Jimenez, Director of the Arizona Department of Commerce, and Robin Sewell, host of Arizona Highways television program.

Sedona Main Street Program is proud and honored to announce the nine statewide finalists and five statewide winners from the projects, people, and events nominated from within its District. They are all phenomenal examples and models for Arizona communities of the dedication, passion, and investment that make our community and Program great.

[Note: To read the full article and list of Sedona nominees, click here. Photo of Gil Jimenez (ADOC), Wendy Lippman (
Tlaquepaque Arts & Craft Village), Michael Rabasca (architect), and Robin Sewell (Arizona Highways television).]